Linking existing table to Excel sheet

tokintmash

Hi All,

I am looking for ways to export texts from DWG files for translation and importing the translations later to replace those texts.

Yes, I've found the "Trans" but I was wondering if there are others beside this one that are good? Possibly even as open lisp so I could try and modify the code if necessary. Maybe specify a layer or something.

I don't require the automatic translation for example, but I  do require batch export/import capability as sometimes there can be hundreds of files.

I need to extract texts and pass them to translators and later replace texts inside DWGs with translations.

I should also mention that am a total beginner when it comes to CADs. I've managed to export texts using Dataextraction, but haven't managed to replace texts based on excel.

There are some threads here and other forums on this.

Is this every text type entity, including Tables, Attributes, Fields, etc?

Haven't used it recently but I have COINS from the Autodesk App Store which just translates the text in AutoCAD, no need to export. 

I get Limit reached on that though, you need to sign up for something at Microsoft IIRC.

There is also the AutoCAD Mechanical 2024 Help | About the Language Converter (AutoCAD Mechanical Toolset) | Autodesk.

Since I have the toolset that's easier for me.

You need look into Scripts and Batch processing in AutoCAD.

On 8/19/2024 at 1:38 PM, SLW210 said:

Is this every text type entity, including Tables, Attributes, Fields, etc?

It varies really. Sometimes it's everything, sometimes it's only BOM etc.

On 8/19/2024 at 1:38 PM, SLW210 said:

You need look into Scripts and Batch processing in AutoCAD.

Yes, I suspected that. Machine translations inside CAD do not work for me. I must be able to pass the texts to translators.