Lisp usage in 2024?

Pixel_Outlaw

Hello All,

I'm a fairly accomplished Lisp programmer looking to switch careers and get into CAD.
I'm fluent in 5 or so dialects of Lisp (Common Lisp, Scheme, Clojure, Emacs Lisp, more recently InterLisp).
I do Clojure as a software engineer professionally (it's a dialect of Lisp) but I feel I'd like to get back to drafting.

I suppose I have some questions (and I'll offer some cool VisualLISP as a introduction :) )

1. How common is VisualLISP these days professionally? I can program in other languages but my heart is in Lisp as a programmer.
2. Can you make a career out of VisualLISP and scripting or do I need a drafting degree for serious employment?
3. Any advice to switch careers would be helpful. I'm a software engineer but I do have highschool and college credits towards AutoCAD which I enjoyed.
4. What products use VisualLISP? I believe I've seen BabaCAD, BricsCAD and of course AutoCAD.

I'll offer a useful VisualLISP function as my first "hello" here. :)
It was written on AutoCAD 2004, not sure how much the language has changed but that's all I have at hand.

;; This lets you filter a list of ANY structure using a keep function
(defun filter (collection keep-fn / temp)
  (foreach i collection
    (if (keep-fn i)
      (setq temp (cons i temp))))
  (reverse temp))

;; Example usage (higher order functions FTW!)
;; (filter '((1 . 2) (3. 4) (5 . -6) (7 . -8)) (lambda (n) (> (cdr n) 0)))
;; returns ((1 . 2) (3 . 4))

Edited by Pixel_Outlaw

There is a market for serious program development, that is where the customer is prepared to pay for a solution, some examples a 3 hr manual task now 2 minutes, a multi high rise window panel all dimensioned like wise 2 minutes and so on, many here will attest to the time savings. The big issue people don't want to pay. Thats why the lisp section here is so busy look at forums/autodesk same thing.