Lisp command to move selected objects to defined OR global elevation.

Guspar

(defun C:TESTJKLISP ()
  (ssget)
   (command "move" "p" "" '(0 0 0) '(0 0 1e99) "move" "p" "" '(0 0 0) '(0 0 1e99))
)

Hello all, I'm fairly new to writing LISP so please excuse my ignorance. The above AutoLISP command allows a selection of dimensions, blocks, etc. to be automatically moved the Z 0 axis. I need help modifying this code to replace the Z 0 data by either prompting for input of desired elevation OR retrieve the global elevation that has been previously changed. I believe that it would be similar to this: 

(setq ZE (command (getvar "ELEVATION"))

but I have been unsuccessful in its implementation. Any advice would be most appreciated, Thanks!

35 minutes ago, devitg said:

You can retrieve it by 

(setq ZE  (getvar "ELEVATION"))

Thank you @devitg ! I'm eager to learn and have been practicing tutorials, feels like I am just piece milling it together currently but have a real-world application where I need to utilize this. Are aware of the functions I need to know in order to replace the Z 0 with ZE in the string? 

Best regards!

1 hour ago, Guspar said:

I need to know in order to replace the Z 0 with ZE in the string

@Guspar.  see it 

(defun C:move-to-elevation ()
  (setq ss (ssget))

(setq elevation (getreal "the elevation"))

(setq osmode (getvar 'osmode))
  (setvar 'osmode 0)
   (command "move" ss "" '(0 0 0)  (list 0 0 elevation)) ; just set the dstination point  
(setvar 'osmode osmode)
 (princ) 
)

• Like 2

I use entmod to change things.

1.  you don't have to mess with osnaps
  2. it should be faster then using command
;;----------------------------------------------------------------------;;
;; Change Elevation of selected items
(defun C:ELV (/ SS)
  (or (setq *elv (vlax-ldata-get "Set" "Elevation")) (setq *elv 5.0)) ;Change 5.0 to your default
  (if (setq elv (getreal (strcat "\nSpecify Elevation <" (rtos *elv) ">: ")))