Searching Layername by Keyword then Renaming it

john_0104

Hi ,

I am new in lisp world and have searched a lot of topics about renaming layer but haven't found a specific one that would cater to my need. The point is I received survey files from different surveyors and I want to rename them into a new one.
Ex.
Received layers "219_POWER DOME", "268_POWER METER BOX", "power_mh" to be merged into new one "v-SERV-powr-"

On some instances, some of the aforementioned received layers were not present on a specific file. I don't want to searched for a specific layer name and changed it to mine because various entities named their layers differently so a single letter, number or character may ruin the program, and it'll be tedious to encode all the layers. I just want to find a common keyword in the 100+ layers and renamed/ categorized it into my standards. It would be also helpful if I can modify the linetype and color too on the LISP, but if I can't it's okay.

Thanks a lot,
John

Merge all layers to "v-SERV-powr-" and purge layers only.

Type LMA or LayMrgAll

What exactly do you want to do with the linetypes and color if bylayer match layer prop before merge?

;;----------------------------------------------------------------------------;;
;; Merge All Existing Layers to "v-SERV-powr-" and Purge
(defun C:LMA () (C:LayMrgAll))
(defun C:LayMrgAll (/ Drawing x SS)
  (vla-startundomark (setq Drawing (vla-get-activedocument (vlax-get-acad-object))))
  (entmake '((0 . "LAYER") (100 . "AcDbSymbolTableRecord") (100 . "AcDbLayerTableRecord") (2 . "v-SERV-powr-") (70 . 0) (62 . 7)))
  (vlax-for lay (vla-get-Layers (vla-get-ActiveDocument (vlax-get-acad-object)))
    (if (/= (setq x (vla-get-name lay)) "v-SERV-powr-")
      (progn
        (setq SS (ssget "X" (list (cons 8 x))))
        (foreach ent (vl-remove-if 'listp (mapcar 'cadr (ssnamex ss)))
          ;future linetype code
          ;future color code
          (vla-put-Layer (vlax-ename->vla-object ent) "v-SERV-powr-")