DCL - load next number value into box

lastknownuser

Recently I started learning DCL dialogs and so far I figured out everything I needed but this one I can't, so maybe someone here can help me. Its a simplified example of a much longer code, so I'll just post this part that is bothering me.

I have a lot of blocks that have numeric label attribute values, hundreds of them but not all numbers are used (example of labels: 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17). I would want a lisp that is asking me to either put a number by keyboard or I could press LOAD button and it would put the next available number in text box (from previous example, by pressing LOAD it would write number 18 and by OK it would start inserting blocks with number 18). So what would be the best solutions to this problem?

Here is what I have so far

Lisp part:

(defun c:test6 ()
  (setq dcl (load_dialog "test6.dcl"))
  (new_dialog "test6" dcl)
  (set_tile "number" "")
  (action_tile "number" "(setq maxnmbr $value)")
  (start_dialog)
  (unload_dialog dcl)
  (setq count (atoi maxnmbr))
  (while (setq pt (getpoint))
  (command "-insert" "label" pt 1 1 0 count)
  (setq count (1+ count)))
 );defun

DCL part:

test6 : dialog {
	: column {
	: row {
        : edit_box {
          key = "number" ;
          edit_width = 15;
          fixed_width = true;}
	    : button {label = "Load";
	      key = "load";
	      width = 12;}}
	: row {
	    : button {label = "OK";
	      key = "accept";
	      alignment = left; width = 12;
		  is_default = true;}}}}

And I just noticed typo in the title of this topic, don't know how or if I can change it or not, but if someone can please change DLC to DCL 😀

When you (set_tile "number" "") why would number not be a value ? In my dcl's if number = nil set it to a value, for you a 2nd "if" would be find last number used if and then if still nil then number would be 1. You know block name "label" so ssget "X" and look at the attributes, use  a defun simpler to debug.

If need help post.