Tagging AMEP elevation/section/detail views

cuervogold1

I'm fairly new to AMEP, and I'm on the documentation end of my modeled project. I would like to tag an elevation/section/detail view created through AMEP's elevation/section/detail tools, but the tagging tool, e.g. "Pipe Tag", will not recognize a pipe in any of the respective views. Am I approaching this all wrong? Can such a view created in AMEP be tagged? What should I change?

The Section or Elevation View generated is a 2D linked representation of the AEC Objects and cannot be tagged. You'll have to actually alter the View of the Model to accomplish this. Best thing to do is use the Live Section instead, then change the orientation to the Elevation View that you need.

It's good that you're testing the boundaries of AMEP but you will soon start to find limitations. This is where Revit MEP will be a better choice, as things like what you're trying to accomplish are beyond capable in Revit. In fact, that's how Revit was intended to be used when it was created to begin with.

We have an AutoCAD MEP section too, BTW. I'll ask a mod to move the thread.

Well, that is quite a disappointment. As for altering the view, I've tried setting the x/y plane to the front view of the model in the View, but only the leader displays on the x/y plane without the tag. Also, only some of the objects in the View are able to be tagged.

Did you change your UCS to the current orientation of the View before placing your Tags?

Well, that is quite a disappointment.
That's why I use Revit now instead of AutoCAD. ;)