Creating text for a sign?

kmonahan

Hi there,

I currently have access to a large automated punch and I was looking to create some stencils in order to make a number of signs.

The punch works by inputting an AutoCAD drawing. Rather than draw all the letters out one-by-one, is there anyway that large text can be added in order to be punched by the machine?

I have limited experience with AutoCAD, but a colleague has agreed to help.

Does anyone have any advice or instructions on how to go about doing this?

Kyle

What do you mean by "anyway that large text can be added"? Did you look at all the fonts AutoCAD comes with and decide that none of them fit your needs? What kind of font style are you interested in?

Using text command, type out what you want. Use Express Tools command TXTEXP. Now to clean that up change to another layer, draw a rectangle around the exploded text. Use the BPOLY command and pick inside the rectangle and inside closed letters like A, B, D, etc. Now lock the original layer and move the bpoly letters up out of the way, or delete the original layer, etc.

Hi guys,

Thanks for your replies, I think 'Exploding Texts' is what I was looking for! I will give rkent's instructions a try and see what happens!

Many thanks again!

Kyle

I work with graphics & company logos from time to time, and I am required to drop them into drawings.

If you use rkent's way, it does work, but when you explode the text in that manner, the lettering will end up being 'faceted'. Auto CAD will make the curved lines in straight sections. This will also in turn distort the lettering, from its original format.

Depending on the size of the lettering it may or may not make a difference. There is however another way to create the text, so it does not distort in any way shape or form, but it will require the use of Adobe Illustrator.

If this is something you are interested in, I can post it.